Best Asian Players in Asian Cup Revealed

The Finest Asian XI in the History of The Asian Cup

AFC Cup Dream XI.

With five months to go to the AFC Asian Cup Qatar 2023, the final all-time Dream XI for the AFC Asian Cup has been determined by the passionate fans of Asian football.

The formidable line-up was voted for out of a pool of 48 players who left their mark in the proud and storied history of the Continent's most prestigious national team competition.

Voting opened on 12 July and ended on 30 July of this year, with the final squad established based on the most highly voted players in each position, as well as the selections of a panel of Asian football experts.

Fans voted for Saudi Arabia's legendary goalkeeper Mohammed Al-Deayea as the top choice between the sticks for the competition's Dream XI. Meanwhile, the defensive line consisted of four national and Continental icons: Japan's Yuto Nagatomo and Yuji Nakazawa, Islamic Republic of Iran's Mehdi Mahdavikia and Korea Republic's Hong Myung-bo.

Fans also picked a stellar midfield comprising Korea Republic legend Park Ji-sung and Japan's 2011 AFC Asian CupTM winner Keisuke Honda, as well as 2000 and 2004 AFC Asian CupTM winner Shunsuke Nakamura.

In the final third, fans selected three forwards who made a name for themselves in both Asian and global football throughout their journeys: Korea Republic star Son Heung-min, IR Iran's beloved legend Ali Daei and 2015 AFC Asian CupTM champion Tim Cahill.

The fan whose squad best matches the final selected Dream XI will be contacted by the AFC to claim their prize: a trip with a companion to the opening match of the AFC Asian Cup Qatar 2023TM between defending champions Qatar and Lebanon on 12 January 2024.

Here is the final AFC Asian Cup Dream XI: 

GOALKEEPER: Mohammed Al-Deayea (KSA)

DEFENDERS: Yuto Nagatomo (JPN), Hong Myung-bo (KOR), Mehdi Mahdavikia (IRN), Yuji Nakazawa (JPN) 

MIDFIELDERS: Park Ji-sung (KOR), Keisuke Honda (JPN), Shunsuke Nakamura (JPN)

FORWARDS: Son Heung-min (KOR), Ali Daei (IRN), Tim Cahill (AUS)

SUBSTITUTES: Mathew Ryan (AUS), Saleh Al Nuaimah (KSA), Nashat Akram (IRQ), Majed Abdullah (KSA)

Asian Cup Match Ball

Best in Asia

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post