2023's Golden Boys


Ballon d'Or (best player) - Lionel Messi

Kopa Trophy (best U21 player) - Jude Bellingham

Yashin Trophy (best goalkeeper) - Emiliano Martinez

Gerd Muller Trophy (top scorer) - Erling Haaland

Club of the Year - Manchester City

Socrates Award (best humanitarian) - Vinicius Jr

* * *

Leo Messi won the 2023 FIFA Ballon d'Or.

There were no surprises in FIFA's annual awards, announced in Paris last night. Argentina's World Cup heroics saw Leo Messi take the top gong for the eighth time, while Aston Villa's Emi Martinez won best goalkeeper.

Man City and Real Madrid enjoyed double wins. 

City, finally crowned European champions, were Club of the Year and Erling Haaland top goalscorer, while Jude Bellingham's showstopping start to life at Real Madrid confirms he was right choice as the best U21 player and clubmate Vinicius Jr's Brazilian charity Instituto Vini Jr won him the Socrates award.

(c) Sean O'Conor & Soccerphile

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post