Thursday, June 13, 2013

Confederations Cup 2013 - 15th-30th June

Confederations Cup 2013 - 15th-30th June

Background Info

The tournament was originally organised by and held in Saudi Arabia and called the 'King Fahd Cup', contested by the Saudi national side and some continental champions. In 1997, FIFA took over the organisation of the tournament, named it the FIFA Confederations Cup and staged the competition every two years.

Since 2005, it has been held every four years, in the year prior to each World Cup in the host country of the forth coming World Cup. Considered a dress rehearsal for the World Cup it precedes, it uses around half of the stadia intended for use at the following year’s competition.


Generally, the host nation, the World Cup holders, and the six continental champions qualify for the competition. In those cases where a team meets more than one of the qualification criteria (such as Spain this year, being both the World Cup & European Cup holders); another team is invited to participate, often the runner-up in a competition that the extra-qualified team won.

It follows a similar pattern of the Champions League within domestic football in that each participant has qualified through success in another competition.

2013 Participants

• Brazil - Hosts
• Spain - World Cup Holders
• Italy - European Championship Runners Up
• Nigeria - Africa Cup of Nations Winners
• Mexico - Gold Cup Winners
• Uruguay - Copa America Winners
• Tahiti - OFC nations Cup Winners
• Japan - Asia Cup Winners.


Thursday, June 6, 2013

Fifa World Rankings June 2013

FIFA World Fifa Rankings
Fifa World Rankings June 2013

Fifa's World Rankings for June 2013 were published today at FIFA HQ in Zurich, Switzerland. The Fifa World Rankings are now published on Thursday and not Wednesday as before.

Euro 2012 winners Spain are once again on top of the FIFA rankings followed by Germany, Argentina, Croatia, Netherlands, Portugal, Colombia, Italy, England and Ecuador.

Copa America champions Uruguay are 19th, while Brazil are in their lowest ever position of 22nd. A newly-strong Belgium are in 12th position. Scotland are in 74th position. The Republic of Ireland are in 41st place, Wales are in 45th, Northern Ireland are 116th.

Ranking Team
1 Spain
2 Germany
3 Argentina
4 Croatia
5 The Netherlands
6 Portugal
7 Colombia
8 Italy
9 England
10 Ecuador
11 Russia
12 Belgium
13 Côte d'Ivoire
14 Switzerland
15 Bosnia-Herzegovina
16 Greece
17 Mexico
18 France
19 Uruguay
20 Denmark

Full world rankings

Previous Fifa World Rankings