FIFA Presidential deadline passes

Fifa Watch

Sepp pleads

The deadline for nominations for FIFA President passed at midnight CET last night, with the final count announced on Monday.
Barring a miracle, however, we can be fairly sure the final battle will be between incumbent Sepp Blatter and Mohamed bin Hammam, with the vote due on the 1st of June.

Former Chilean star Elias Figueroa pulled out at the last minute, while US sportswriter Grant Wahl predictably failed to win support with his 'citizen's bid' for the top job, inspired by Norman Mailer's attempt to become mayor of New York City in 1969.

Bin Hammam, boosted by his nation's controversial capture of the 2022 World Cup Finals, is hoping to be the first Asian president of the organisation. Expect he and Blatter to do their bit for the planet as they jet around the 280 member nations over the next couple of months pressing flesh and promising the earth in exchange for a vote.

FIFA Presidents

Robert Guérin (France) 1904-1906

Daniel Burley Woolfall (England) 1906-1918

Jules Rimet (France) 1921-1954

Rodolphe Seeldreyers (Belgium) 1954-1955

Arthur Drewry (England) 1955-1961

Stanley Rous (England) 1961-1974

João Havelange (Brazil) 1974-1998

Sepp Blatter (Switzerland) 1998-

FIFA Related

The Men Who Stole The World Cup

(c) Sean O'Conor & Soccerphile

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post